Kontakt aufnehmen
Achilles-Erfahrungen: Skanska erreicht fortschrittliches Lieferkettenmanagement mit Achilles

Artikel, Case Studies, Fallstudien

Achilles-Erfahrungen: Skanska erreicht fortschrittliches Lieferkettenmanagement mit Achilles

Skanska, gegründet im Jahr 1887, ist eine der weltweit führenden Baugruppen mit Fachkenntnissen im Bau, der Entwicklung von kommerziellen und Wohnprojekten sowie öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaften. In Großbritannien ist Skanska bekannt für den Bau von ikonischen Strukturen wie dem ‚Gherkin‘ (30 St Mary Axe) und der QEII Bridge. Skanska UK beschäftigt 5.200 Mitarbeiter und erzielt einen Jahresumsatz von über 1,3 Milliarden Pfund.

Skanska chooses Achilles for ESG supply chain

kanska, gegründet im Jahr 1887, ist eine der weltweit führenden Baugruppen mit Fachkenntnissen im Bau, der Entwicklung von kommerziellen und Wohnprojekten sowie öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaften. In Großbritannien ist Skanska bekannt für den Bau von ikonischen Strukturen wie dem ‚Gherkin‘ (30 St Mary Axe) und der QEII Bridge. Skanska UK beschäftigt 5.200 Mitarbeiter und erzielt einen Jahresumsatz von über 1,3 Milliarden Pfund.

Herausforderung

Dale Turner, Director of Procurement and Supply Chain, ist verantwortlich für die Beschaffungsstrategie bei Skanska UK und leitet eine Beschaffungsenabling-Funktion, die jedes Jahr für rund eine Milliarde Pfund an Ausgaben im gesamten Unternehmen verantwortlich ist.

Bevor Skanska UK ein Achilles BuildingConfidence-Käufer wurde, hatte das Unternehmen seinen eigenen internen Vorqualifikationsfragebogen (PQQ), der jedoch nicht so tief ging und keine Gewissheit für interne und externe Stakeholder bot. Deshalb wurde Skanska UK vor acht Jahren Mitglied von Achilles BuildingConfidence.

Prozess

Durch den Achilles BuildingConfidence-Vorqualifikationsfragebogen und Lieferantenaudits hat Skanska einen Weg gefunden, mehr Transparenz und Sichtbarkeit der Risiken in seiner Lieferkette zu bieten und aufzuzeigen, wo Lieferanten Unterstützung zur Verbesserung benötigen.

‚Majority of our business is subcontracted, so what our clients see each day is our supply chain,‘ sagt Dale. ‚It’s important our suppliers are of the standard we need them to be and to come on a journey with us so we can meet all our aspirations.‘

„In terms of value, Achilles BuildingConfidence gives Skanska visibility and transparency of our supply chain and highlights where the major risks lie.“

Dale Turner, Director of Procurement and Supply Chain – Skanska UK

Der vierteljährliche Bericht, den Achilles an Skanska über ihre Lieferkette liefert, hilft, langfristige Trends zu beobachten und zu bestätigen, ob sich die Lieferkette als Ganzes Jahr für Jahr verbessert.

‚Am Anfang ging es hauptsächlich um die gesetzliche Einhaltung‘, erklärt Dale, ‚aber jetzt können wir uns auf fortschrittlicheres Lieferkettenmanagement konzentrieren.‘

Zum Beispiel konzentrieren sich viele der Kunden von Skanska derzeit auf die Verhaltenskultur und wie Auftragnehmer sicherstellen, dass Werte und Verhaltensweisen durch die gesamte Lieferkette durchsickern. Achilles BuildingConfidence hilft Dale dabei, genau zu zeigen, wie Skanska das erreicht.

Skanska ist auch ein akkreditierter Achilles BuildingConfidence-Lieferant.

„Es geht hauptsächlich um die kontinuierliche Verbesserung unseres Geschäfts, aber es geht auch um Führung“, sagt Dale. „Es wäre schwierig, Lieferanten zu bitten, eine Prüfung zu durchlaufen, die Skanska nicht bereit wäre, erfolgreich abzuschließen.“

Skanska ist auch mit Achilles UVDB qualifiziert. ‚Die Verwaltung unserer Lieferkette für verschiedene Sektoren und die Verwaltung durch dasselbe Unternehmen macht es viel einfacher zu kontrollieren‘, sagt Dale.

Ergebnisse

Skanska UK sieht mehrere Vorteile durch die Achilles-Communities:

Verbesserungen in der Leistung der Lieferkette. In den letzten 3 Jahren hat Skanska eine Reduzierung von 74 % bei Nichtkonformitäten in seiner Lieferkette für Lieferanten festgestellt, die auf Achilles BuildingConfidence akkreditiert sind.

Interaktion mit anderen Käufern. ‚Mit der Käufergemeinschaft im Raum zu sein und ihre Herausforderungen zu verstehen, ist ein riesiger Vorteil‘, sagt Dale. ‚Wir lassen unsere Firmenhüte an der Tür und versuchen, etwas für die ganze Branche zu gestalten.‘ Zum Beispiel ist Building Information Modelling (BIM) derzeit eine große Herausforderung in der Branche, daher arbeitet die Lenkungsgruppe zusammen, um den PQQ und das Audit so zu ändern, dass beurteilt wird, wo sich unsere Lieferkette auf ihrer Reise befindet.

Vermeidung von Duplizierung in der Branche. Unterstützung der Construction Strategy 2025 der Regierung gibt es bereits mehrere große Auftragnehmer, die Achilles BuildingConfidence-Käufer sind, was bedeutet, dass Lieferanten nur einen PQQ und ein Audit für diese Organisationen durchführen müssen.

Besserer Wert für Lieferanten. ‚Für Lieferanten ist es ein großartiges Geschäftsverbesserungstool‘, sagt Dale. Die Prüfung bietet eine robuste Bewertung, wie ein Unternehmen aufgestellt ist, um komplexe Projekte zu lie.

← Artikel

Achilles Experiences: Skanska achieves advanced supply chain management with Achilles

3 Oct 2016
Article by Achilles

Skanska logo

Skanska, formed in 1887, is one of the world’s leading construction groups with expertise in construction, development of commercial and residential projects and public-private partnerships. In the UK, Skanska is famous for building iconic structures like 30 St Mary Axe (the ‘Gherkin’) and the QEII Bridge. Skanska UK has 5,200 employees and annual revenues in excess of £1.3 billion.

Challenge

Dale Turner, Director of Procurement and Supply Chain, is responsible for procurement strategy at Skanska UK and leads a procurement enabling function who, each year, are responsible for around a billion pounds of spend across the business.

Before becoming an Achilles BuildingConfidence buyer, Skanska UK had its own internal pre-qualification questionnaire (PQQ), but it didn’t go into as much depth and help to deliver assurance to their internal and external stakeholders. That’s why, eight years ago, Skanska UK became a buyer member of Achilles BuildingConfidence.

Process

Through the Achilles BuildingConfidence pre-qualification questionnaire and supplier audits, Skanska has found a way to provide more visibility and transparency of the risk in its supply chain and highlight where suppliers can be helped to improve.

‘Most of our business is subcontracted, so what our clients see each day is our supply chain,’ says Dale. ‘It’s important our suppliers are of the standard we need them to be and to come on a journey with us so we can meet all our aspirations.’

In terms of value, Achilles BuildingConfidence gives Skanska visibility and transparency of our supply chain and highlights where the major risks lie.”

Dale Turner, Director of Procurement and Supply Chain – Skanska UK

The quarterly report, which Achilles provides to Skanska about their supply chain, helps to watch for long-term trends and confirms whether the supply chain as a whole is improving year on year.

‘In the beginning it was mostly about legislative compliance,’ explains Dale, ‘but now we can focus on more advanced supply chain management.’

For example, many of Skanska’s clients are currently focusing on behavioural culture, and how contractors ensure values and behaviours ripple down through the entire supply chain. Achilles BuildingConfidence helps Dale demonstrate exactly how Skanska achieves that.

Skanska is also an accredited Achilles BuildingConfidence supplier.

‘It’s mainly to do with our own continuous improvement of our business, but it’s also about leadership,’ says Dale. ‘It would be difficult to ask suppliers to go through an audit that Skanska wasn’t willing to successfully complete itself.’

Skanska is also qualified with Achilles UVDB ‘having our supply chain managed for different sectors, and administered through the same company makes it much easier to control,’ says Dale.

Results

Skanska UK sees several benefits from the Achilles communities:

Supply chain performance improvements. In the last 3 years, Skanska has seen a 74% reduction in non-compliance in their supply chain for those suppliers accredited on Achilles BuildingConfidence.

Interaction with other buyers. ‘Being in the room with the buyer community and understanding their challenges is a huge benefit,’ says Dale. ‘We leave our company hats at the door and try to shape something for the whole industry.’ For example, Building Information Modelling (BIM) is currently a big challenge in the industry, so the steering group is working together to change the PQQ and audit to assess where our supply chain are on their journey.

Avoiding duplication across the industry. Supporting the  Government’s 2025 Construction strategy, there are several major contractors who are already Achilles BuildingConfidence buyers, meaning suppliers only need to complete one PQQ and audit for these organisations.

Better value for suppliers. ‘For suppliers, it’s a great business improvement tool,’ says Dale. The audit provides a robust assessment of how a business is set-up to deliver what are often complex projects and maintains continuous improvement as standards change over time.



Get great insights in your inbox every month

Subscribe